Xu Bing : Art Beyond the Kármán Line

Xu Bing: Art Beyond the Kármán Line is a new exhibition to be hosted by Red Brick Art Museum, starting this November 6th. Director of the Tsinghua Institute for Advanced Study in Humanities and Social Sciences (TIAS), professor Wang Hui served as the academic host and Yu Wende, the founder of WanHoo, as the project consultant, this exhibition is curated by Red Brick Art Museum’s director, Yan Shijie. The theme of the exhibition revolves around Xu Bing’s launching of his “Xu Bing Tianshu Rocket”, in collaboration with the renowned rocket company, iSpace. The exhibition itself will present a large number of archives, pictures, videos, artworks, and other presentations intended to comb through the history of space art. The title comes from the concept of the Kármán Line, the hypothetical distinction of where the earth’s atmosphere ends, and outer space begins. The artist hopes to use the fate of his “art rocket” as a means for starting dialogues about misunderstandings people have when conceptualizing ideas such as: contemporary art vs. space, civilization on this pale blue dot we call home, who exactly has the right to use resources beyond our earthly domain, and just how art is being expanded on a new and interplanetary scale.

Wang Hui, the academic host, commented that European artists used to collect questions from all over the world and try to launch them into space by rocket or other carriers, just as people in the age of navigation put their messages in sealed bottles and threw them into the sea, expecting the unknown to open them. These attempts assumed that unknown worlds, whether beings in space or people on the other side, would be able to decipher the words, and thus access our information, like someone with a codebook or an input method. We expect to hear back from them, even if it is in the distant future or countless generations from now. But launching Tianshu and the text it carried that has been meaningless since its inception into space, assumes from the beginning that there is no code to break and is rather looking back at ourselves on Earth from the perspective of the outer space and its unbreakable symbols. “At the beginning of remote antiquity, Who was there to transmit the tale? When above and below had not yet taken shape, By what means could they be examined? When darkness and light were obscured, Who could fathom them? When primal matter was the only form, How could it be recognized? Brightness became bright and darkness dark; What has caused them to be like this? Yin and yang commingle; What was basic, what transformed? (quoted Heavenly Questions, or Questions to Heaven, written by Qu Yuan)” These are the heavenly questions of the ancient. But Tianshu and its fate are the questions to heaven or the heaven’s questions to heaven?

He likened the ascension of Tianshu to “a contemporary version of The Tower of Babel. A united human race in the generations following the Great Flood, speaking a single language and migrating eastward, comes to the land of Shinar. There they agree to build a city and a tower tall enough to reach heaven. God, observing their city and tower, confounds their speech so that they can no longer understand each other, and scatters them around the world. The failure of launching Tianshu is just one of the countless attempts of mankind exploring space. It is not a halt, but rather a symbol of an unending effort to explore the unknown. But the difference between them is that Tianshu is never about a group of people’s language, but a long telegram without a codebook or recipient. In this sense, we can perhaps think about the fate of the Tianshu from the perspective of heaven’s questions to heaven.”

Curator Yan Shijie said, “In the early days of human civilization, when people held an insurmountable fear of the ‘heavens,’ our predecessors left for us records of culture rich with imagination, having crossed the ‘Kármán Line of Art’ in their own fantastical way. In light of the upcoming space age, people seem to have hastily changed their stance from being in awe of the heavens, and aerospace scientists have begun their relentless exploration of deep space. Within the context of the milestones achieved so far in space exploration, the artist Xu Bing coincidentally became an explorer of space art, and thus has led to the artistic practice ‘Xu Bing: Art Beyond the Kármán Line.’”

“I foresee so many possibilities in this space,” said Xu Bing. “With the increase of problems on Earth, human beings must resort to the exploration of outer space to obtain a reference for solving the Earth’s crisis. And the closer distance between space technology and the lives of ordinary people will certainly open up more thinking space in art creation. From the history of civilization, the change of artistic expression method always accompanies the progress of technology and materials.”

As a contemporary artist, Xu Bing is an internationally recognized figure, and is widely deemed a leading conceptual artist in the field of language and semiotics. His often-revolutionary work continues to expand art’s preconceived boundaries.

On February 1, 2021, a rocket was launched from China’s Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center, marking the 6,025th time anything was launched from this planet into outer space. The name of the rocket itself was “Xu Bing Tianshu Rocket” (a nod to the famous work by Xu Bing, translated as “Book from the Sky”), making it the first rocket ever to use a name based on an artist and his artwork.

“Xu Bing Tianshu Rocket” took off from the ground, carrying a Rubik’s Cube, the edge of which is 5.5-centimeter-long. The intent was for the satellite to send back real-time images of the Rubik’s Cube in outer space. And the surface of the rocket was covered in fake Chinese characters (a play on the name Tianshu, which today means “nonsense” in colloquial speech). Various components were meant to detach from the main rocket in three stages and disintegrate within the earth’s atmosphere. In a sense, the fake Chinese characters rushed into the heavens and fell back to the Earth. For just that split moment, this piece of art visualizes the harmony between humankind and nature; the human-made structures shot upward and later were influenced by natural forces, fire from thrusters, atmospheric friction, and gravity.

“I would hardly call this an independent or creative work of art,” said Xu Bing. “Probably because its fundamental element is derived from an old work made 35 years ago. However, it has been situated under the new conditions of modern developments in space science and technology. This ‘idea’ managed to slip past various global shifts that occurred [in the same amount of time], so the concept of making an ‘art rocket’ is really a vacillating phenomenon. The difficulty of defining just what this project is therefore seems to correspond with just how hard it is to define what ‘contemporary art’ is.” He went on, “The extension of art into outer space still has to do with solving things on Earth and exploring the limitations of humankind. In the end, we are still looking for a new and effective philosophy.”

Art critic Jonas Stampe commented, “In transforming the rocket into an artwork, incorporating all of its different parts, functions and operations; its body, launch, thrusts, stages, land traces, satellite, the surrounding spacescape as well as the piece intended to stay in orbit beyond the Karman line, the Tianshu Magic Cube, Xu Bing gave a total perspective of what astronautical art could be. Not only the tangible parts with their signification, but also invisible meaning-builders. Of which the most essential is the conceptual-physical unification of science and art. Or to be more precise, to merge two of its most advanced forms, rocket science and the Tianshu characters. One representing the highest level of result oriented and intelligible science and the other the articulated unintelligibility of art. The first representing logic and praxis, the second questioning it through its own conceptual unintelligibility.”

Yu Wende considers the integration of aerospace and art to be the most sophisticated extraction and refinement of human civilization. Xu Bing is also the explorer to perfectly integrate his artistic thinking with space flight.

“Technically, this project could not be considered as a piece of artwork, but it opens a larger intellectual laboratory for artistic exploration,” Xu Bing said. For example, the crash site created a form of “land art”. The artist concluded, “It’s practically impossible to plan for a crater, but what we saw happen was the ideal unarranged ‘land art’ that completely contradicts with the artist’s original intentions. It cannot be identified as ‘ready-made’ or ‘happening’ since such works would depend on pre-arranged occurrences. What we saw happen was an ‘apparition’ that can only be ‘identified’ at a later stage. This leads to the question of who has the right to identify art. It turns out to be an artistic phenomenon that is happening now and is constantly in flux, which can hardly be explained by the existing concepts of past art history. Contemporary art exists by constantly self-correcting its mode of function in the process of civilization. From Newton to Einstein, in short, is to realize ‘Space-time entanglement of matter distortion’; the philosophy of ‘abnormality is the norm”. It is a ‘variable’ itself, like the magnetic powder which creates new images with the movement of a magnet.”

Xu Bing said, “Because we broke into a strange field, it is like falling into a black hole that has lost the fulcrum of judgment as well as into a close entanglement with the social scene. It seems that the controllable parts of things are all wrapped in dark matter, which prevents you from continuing to use pathetic old knowledge or subjective and random identification methods. This is very different from fiddling with a work in a studio. For more than one year, this well-conceived ‘script’ has been written and rewritten to a multi-layered story and has developed from its original extreme realism style to a surreal science-fiction style.

“And how should we measure and judge what can emerge from the mutual implantation of art and rocket technology? It is a strange two-way observation that reveals what is invisible in one direction. Tianshu is equivalent to a ghost’s painting from the perspectives of scientific or sociological, yet it also involves the natural leading of art and poetry just like witchcraft. That is why it has been said, what is invisible to science is seen with art, and vice versa. The fate and role of this art rocket in fact highlights that contemporary art and a field with its own strict logic have been inserted in an unusual way, stirring up something that would not have had a chance to surface. The challenge in every field comes from how to take advantage of and deal with the balance that is upset by the intrusion of other fields.” Concerning this exhibition, Xu Bing continued, “Perhaps the role of this art rocket project is an experiment and exercise for future space art and is more like a transitional event. I hope it will leave a [seed-like] gene, waiting and looking for new soil before growing into something different from the [general] ‘matrix’ and becoming a spectacle never seen before. It is not a standard art exhibition, and we are still at the stage of reflecting on these strange questions,” Xu Bing commented. “What the artist and curator can do, though, is enter such a space art scene together with the audience.”

“The moment the art rocket was named ‘Xu Bing Tianshu’ marked Xu Bing’s voluntary choice to cross the ‘Kármán Line of Art’ and set off for the profound unknown of space.” emphasized Yan Shijie, “This could have been a journey in vain, leaving us with only the shadow of the artist travelling farther away from us. Xu Bing earnestly hopes to harness the energy of space as a means of enlightenment, and to use the methodologies of art to decipher the code of the universe. His artistic practice agitates the gravitational vortex between the two fields of space exploration and art, in which he is confused and disoriented while constantly searching for new coordinates and concepts of perception.”

 

——————————————————————
About the artist

Xu Bing, he served as the deputy president of CAFA. He is widely recognized as the leading conceptual artist of language and semiotics working today. In 1999, he was awarded the MacArthur Genius Award, the highest creative talent award in the United States. In 2004, he was awarded the first Artes Mundi Prize. In 2018, he was awarded the Xu Beihong Art Creation Award by the Education Development Foundation of the CAFA. Xu Bing’s work has been shown at the National Art Museum of China, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, the British Museum, the Venice Biennale, and other world-renowned institutions.

About the academic host

Wang Hui, the founding Director of the Tsinghua Institute for Advanced Study in Humanities and Social Sciences (TIAS). He teaches at Tsinghua University as Distinguished Professor of Literature and History. He has published extensively on Chinese intellectual history, literature, and engaged in debates on historical and contemporary issues. The English language translations include China’s Twentieth Century (2015), China From Empire to Nation-State (2014), The Politics of Imagining Asia (2010), The End of Revolution (2009) and China’s New Order (2003). His four-volumes work The Rise of Modern Chinese Thought in Chinese (2004) is regarded as one of the most important contributions to modern Chinese scholarship over the past two decades. Wang Hui is the recipient of numerous awards such as “2013 Luca Pacioli Prize” which he shared with Jürgen Habermas in Italy and “Anneliese Maier Research Award” (2018) in Germany.

About the project consultant

Yu Wende, founder of Wanhoo, has been dedicating himself to the exploration and progress of space art for a long time.

About the curator

Yan Shijie, Founder, director and curator of the Red Brick Art Museum. Always adhering to the value of ‘academic-oriented’ exhibitions and programs, he is a pioneer in proposing and implementing the concept of the “ecological museum experience” in China. He has curated many exhibitions for influential artists from all around the globe.

Read all

Academic Host: Wang Hui
Project Consultant: Yu Wende
Curator: Yan Shijie
Artist: Xu Bing
Dates: November 6, 2021 – April 12, 2022
Opening: November 5, 2021

Organized by: Red Brick Art Museum, Beijing, China
Co-organized with: CSA, WanHoo

徐冰:艺术卡门线

红砖美术馆将于11月6日推出新展“徐冰:艺术卡门线”(卡门线,被认为是外太空与地球大气层的分界线)。本次展览由红砖美术馆主办,清华大学人文与社会科学高等研究所所长汪晖担任学术主持,万户创世于文德担任艺术火箭的项目顾问,红砖美术馆馆长闫士杰策展。展览围绕艺术家徐冰与星际荣耀火箭公司发射的“徐冰天书号”艺术火箭展开,通过大量的文字、图片、视频资料、艺术作品和对太空艺术历史的梳理,呈现一个独特的展览。通过对这枚“艺术火箭”命运的讨论,引发当代艺术与太空领域、地球文明的误区、谁有权使用太空资源,以及在新的思维尺度里艺术如何被拉伸等问题的思考。

学术主持汪晖表示:若干年前,欧洲的艺术家曾经从世界各地收集一些问题,试图用火箭或其他方式发射至太空,就像航海时代的人将自己的信息装入密封瓶子,投入大海,期待未知的人打开。这些尝试假设未知的世界——无论是太空的生命还是彼岸的人群——像掌握着密码本或输入法的人一样,能够破解这些文字,进而获得我们的信息。我们期待着他们的回馈,即便这回馈是在遥远的未来,或者无数代人之后。但将“天书”——从其诞生起便无所指的文字发射入太空,从一开始就假定了并不存在破解的密码,毋宁是从太空及其无破解密码的符号的角度回望地球上的我们。“遂古之初,谁传道之?上下未形,何由考之?冥昭瞢闇,谁能极之?冯翼惟像,何以识之?明明闇闇,惟时何为?阴阳三合,何本何化?”这是古人之天问。但“徐冰天书号”及其命运是天问,还是天问之天问?

汪晖将“天书”的升空喻为“巴别塔寓言的当代版。在‘大洪水’之后,一群从东方来到示拿地区的、只说同一种语言的人决定建造一座城和一座通天塔。上帝意识到他们的傲慢,遂决定在那里打乱天下人的言语,使众人分散到了世界各地,无法知晓别人的意思。‘徐冰天书号’发射的失败只是人类无数探寻太空的尝试之一,失败并非停歇,毋宁是向未知挺进的绵延不绝的努力之象征。但不同的是:‘天书’从来不是一群人的语言,而是一份没有密码本也没有收件人的长电报。在这个意义上,我们或许可以从天问之天问的角度思考‘徐冰天书号’的命运?”

策展人闫士杰说:“在人类初期对‘天’无解的恐惧中,我们的先人留下了充满想象的文化印记,用幻想跨越了‘艺术卡门线’。面对正在到来的太空时代,人们似乎刚刚从对上苍的敬畏中又仓促地转换角色,航天科技工作者开启了对深空的不懈探索,在过往成果的条件下,艺术家徐冰机缘巧合中成为一位太空艺术的探索者,由此引发出‘徐冰:艺术卡门线’这一艺术实践。”

正如艺术家徐冰所言:“我预感到这个空间里有太多的可能性。随着地球上问题的增多,人类必须借助对外太空的探究以获得解决地球危机的参照,随着太空科技与常人生活日益贴近,这必将为艺术创作打开更多的思想空间。从文明史上看,艺术表达法的改变总是伴随科技、材料的进步而改变。”

徐冰是国际当代艺术界具有影响力,并被广泛认为是当今语言学和符号学方面重要的观念艺术家,他始终以极具突破力的艺术创作拓展着艺术的边界。

2021年2月1日,中国酒泉发射了一枚火箭,这是全球第6025次航天发射,这枚火箭以“徐冰天书号”命名,是首枚以艺术之名发射的火箭。

“徐冰天书号”安装了一个5.5cm立方体的“天书魔方”。按计划卫星将传回魔方在外太空的即时影像。箭体上布满了《天书》文字。子级箭在完成推进任务后与载荷舱分离,回落地表。这些《天书》文字随着火箭经历上天入地的过程,在火力推送、大气摩擦、箭体陨落等自然力量的再造中,呈现出独特的作品形态。

徐冰表示:“这枚‘艺术火箭’很难说它是一件独立的、有创意的艺术作品。由于它的基本元素来自35年前一件旧作的想法,却被放在今天太空科技发展的新条件下,在35年来世界巨变的各种因素之间滑动,从而使这枚‘艺术火箭’的概念成为一个游移不定的东西。对这个项目的界定,就像‘当代艺术’是什么,同样的难于界定。把艺术触角伸到外太空,解决的还是地球上的事,探究的还是人的局限。最终寻求的还是新的、有效的哲学观。”

艺评家乔纳斯·斯坦普( Jonas Stampe)提到,“在将火箭转化为艺术作品的过程中,徐冰将其所有不同的部分、功能和操作都纳入思考范畴;火箭的主体、发射、推力、进程、痕迹、卫星、周围的空间景观以及打算留在卡门线外的轨道上的作品——《天书魔方》。徐冰对什么是航天艺术进行了全面展望,所有的元素都作为意义的载体参与其中。不仅是有形的部分及其意义,还构建了无形的意义。其中最重要的,便是科学和艺术在概念和物理上的统一。或者更准确地说,徐冰将最先进的两种形式——航天科技和天书文字合而为一,一个代表了以结果为导向和可理解的科学的最高水平,另一个则代表了艺术的不可理解性。”

项目顾问于文德表示:航天与艺术的融合是人类文明最精尖的萃取与提炼。而徐冰正是把他的艺术思想与航天科技完美融合的探索者。

艺术家徐冰说:“这个不能称其为作品的项目,像是为我打开了一个新的思想空间。就拿那个‘环形山’来说,如果靠计划施工制造这样一件大地艺术几乎不可能,但一件理想的大地艺术却出现了。它不是安排所得。它与‘现成品艺术’或‘偶发艺术’不同在于,后两者是安排‘发生’的艺术,而前者是先出现了,再被‘指认’的艺术。这又涉及了谁有权认定艺术?当下正在发生的、游移不定的艺术现象,是以往艺术史的分类学界定不了的。当代艺术就是依靠对自身在文明进程中作用方式的不断矫正而存在的。它本身就是个‘变量’,像磁粉随着磁石的移动出现新的图案。从牛顿到爱因斯坦,简单说就是认识到了‘物质扭曲的时空纠缠’的性质;‘异常是常态’的哲学。”

对于这个项目的过程,徐冰感叹:“我们闯入了一个陌生领域,像是掉进了一个失去判断支点的黑洞,也掉进了一个与社会现场近距离的纠缠中。好像事物的可控部分都被暗物质包裹着,这些都不许你继续使用可怜的旧知识和主观随意的认定方法,与在工作室摆弄一件作品不同……这个构思严谨的‘剧本’一年多来从没停止过叠加故事而不断改写,从极度写实主义风格,变成了超现实或寓言风格。”

“我们又该如何考量艺术与火箭科技相互植入后能出现什么?陌生的双向互看,能看到单向度看不见的东西。从科学或社会学视角看《天书》等同于‘鬼画符’,却也点到了艺术与诗歌天然的巫术的诱导性。所以有人说:科学看不见的东西用艺术看,反之即然。其实这枚艺术火箭的命运和作用,突显的是当代艺术与一个有着自身严密逻辑的领域被另类插入,并搅动出原本没有机会浮现的东西。其实每个领域的挑战都来自于如何利用和处理由于其它领域闯入而打破的平衡。”关于这次展览徐冰称:“这枚艺术火箭也许只是为将来的太空艺术做了一次演习,我希望它能留下一种基因,等待并寻找新的土壤,长出与‘母体’不同的东西。我们对这些陌生问题还处于需要判断的阶段,艺术家和策展人能做的就是与观众一起进入这样一个太空艺术现场。”

策展人闫士杰表示:艺术火箭被命名为“徐冰天书号”的那一瞬间,标志着徐冰自愿选择跨越“艺术卡门线”,向未知的深空出发,这可能是一次无果的旅行,留给我们一个艺术家远行的背影。他虔诚地期望借用太空的能量开悟自我,用艺术的方式解读宇宙密码;他的艺术实践搅动了两个空间场域之间的引力漩涡,身处其中,迷茫、失语,又在不断寻找新的认知和坐标。

——————————————————————————————————

艺术家简介:徐冰,中央美术学院教授。被广泛认为是当今语言学和符号学方面重要的观念艺术家。1999年获得美国创造性人才最高奖“天才奖”。2004年获得首届“Artes Mundi国际当代艺术奖”。2018年荣获中央美术学院“徐悲鸿艺术创作奖”。作品展出于中国美术馆、纽约大都会艺术博物馆、纽约现代美术馆、古根海姆美术馆、大英博物馆、威尼斯双年展等艺术机构,并被广泛收藏。

学术主持:汪晖,清华大学首批资深文科教授,清华大学人文与社会科学高等研究所所长,主要著作包括《世纪的诞生》(“20世纪的中国”第一部,另两部待出)《现代中国思想的兴起》(四卷本)《去政治化的政治》《东西之间的“西藏问题”》《亚洲视野:中国历史的叙述》《短二十世纪》等。2013年与哈贝马斯同获“卢卡·帕西欧利奖”, 2018年获“安莉内泽·迈尔研究奖”。

项目顾问简介:于文德,万户创世文化传媒创始人,长期致力于太空艺术领域的探索与推动。

策展人简介:闫士杰,红砖美术馆创始人、馆长、策展人。始终注重构建国际文化艺术的交流平台,坚守“学术为本”,率先提出并践行“生态体验美术馆”的运营理念。策划了众多具有影响力的国际重要艺术家的展览。

阅读全部

学术主持:汪晖
项目顾问:于文德
策展人:闫士杰
艺术家:徐冰

开幕式日期:2021年11月5日
展期:2021年11月6日至2022年4月12日

主办:红砖美术馆
协办:太空艺术馆、北京万户创世文化传媒有限公司