Archive Center

(From left) Yan Shijie, founder and director of Red Brick Art Museum, Mrs. Bernell, and Robert Bernell, founder of Timezone 8, at the donation ceremony, 2019

 

Since the opening of the Archive Center in 2018, Red Brick Art Museum has received donations of books and archives from over thirty artists, art museums, galleries, and art media outlets. In addition to the museum’s historical records and exhibition archives, the Center holds and continues to collect books, journals, and archives from Timezone 8, Taikang Space, Galleria Continua, ShanghART Gallery, Artforum, Artco China, and artists Xing Danwen, Huang Rui, and Xiao Lu, and etc.

 

A sketch on view during Olafur Eliasson: The Unspeakable Openness of Things, 2018

 

The Archive Center is devoted to studying, collecting, and preserving art archives, and making them accessible. The display of archived materials has been and will be an integral part of museum exhibitions. In previous shows, including Olafur Eliasson: The Unspeakable Openness of Things, Izumi Kato, and Andreas Mühe: Photography, the Museum collected and presented sketches, documentary photos, and other primary materials from the exhibiting artists. Those papers and documents bring us into the artists’ specific art scenes and social contexts, allowing us to examine the artists’ creative practices from different perspectives.

In Thousand-Armed Guanyin, an exhibition featuring the museum collection as of 2019, the museum displayed collected books and archival materials, and allowed visitors to peruse selected volumes.

 

Collected books and archives on view during Thousand-Armed Guanyin, 2019

 

In the future, the Archive Center will concentrate on collecting, archiving, and researching primary materials related to the history of contemporary art in general and Chinese contemporary art in particular. As an indispensable part of the museum, the Center intends to digitize the books and archives in the collection, making these essential resources available to artists, art historians, curators, and the general public.

If you are interested in collaborating with the Archive Center or making a donation, please contact us for more information.

Email to: archive@redbrickartmuseum.org

文献中心

(左起)红砖美术馆创始人、馆长闫士杰,东八时区创始人罗伯特及夫人在文献中心捐赠仪式上,2019

 

2018年,红砖美术馆成立艺术文献中心,并陆续收到来自艺术家、美术馆、画廊和艺术媒体等的文献捐赠。目前,红砖美术馆文献中心的馆藏文献除美术馆相关历史及展览文献以外,还包括东八时区书店、泰康空间、常青画廊、香格纳画廊、《Artforum》杂志、《典藏》杂志,艺术家邢丹文、黄锐、肖鲁等30余家机构及个人的图书、期刊和档案,并在持续扩充当中。

 

“奥拉维尔·埃利亚松:道隐无名”中同时展出的艺术家埃利亚松创作手稿,2018

 

红砖美术馆文献中心致力于艺术文献的研究、发掘、整理和传播,文献展作为介入展览的重要组成部分,也将延续到重要展览中。在过去的“奥拉维尔·埃利亚松:道隐无名”、“加藤泉”、“安德里亚斯·穆埃——摄影”等展览中,红砖收集、展出了参展艺术家的手稿、影像等一手文献,将其创作还原到更加具体的社会语境和创作现场,从不同侧面剖析和阐释艺术家作品背后的创作线索。

2019年“千手观音”馆藏展中,我们在展厅设立了文献图书展示区和公众借阅体验区,向公众开放部分馆藏图书文献。

 

“千手观音”馆藏展文献部分展览现场,2019

 

未来,红砖美术馆文献中心将聚焦当代艺术特别是中国当代艺术一手文献的挖掘、梳理和研究;文献中心作为红砖“艺术生态”的重要拼图,同时启动图书、文献的全面数字化,力图成为艺术家、艺术史学者、策展人、公众进入当代艺术研究的重要基地。

机构和个人想了解关于红砖美术馆文献中心更多信息,或有捐赠、合作意向,请联系文献中心。

邮件联系:archive@redbrickartmuseum.org