2020+

“About suffering they were never wrong,
The old Masters: how well they understood
Its human position: how it takes place”
-W. H. Auden

After British poet W. H. Auden visited the Royal Museum of Fine Arts in Brussels in 1938, he incorporated his feelings on seeing the work of sixteenth-century Dutch master Pieter Bruegel the Elder into his very visual poem “Musée des Beaux Arts.” Here, suffering, tragedy, and life are presented in interlocking scenes, and gloom and desolation are revealed amidst the calm.

In 2020, we have been confronted with the most difficult pandemic in one hundred years, and sudden public crises and social upheavals have blanketed the globe. All of the known coordinates for the individual and the collective, life and nature, the present and eternity have led to a crossroads. Yan Shijie, curator of this exhibition, noted, “2020 has already become a ‘boundary stele’ for us, and tangible and intangible words have become frozen in eternal collective memories.” Through the unique ideas and actions of fifteen artists, “2020+ attempts to open a multi-dimensional space for understanding.

Earth perspectives, 2020, a work that Olafur Eliasson created for the Serpentine Galleries’ Back to Earth project, will be presented in the online portion of Red Brick Art Museum’s “2020+” exhibition. The artist selected nine places on earth for their natural or human significance and created maps from these nine perspectives. This work shows that maps, space, and the Earth itself are constructed, and we all have the power to explore and interpret the Earth from new perspectives, whether individually or collectively.

The exhibition’s offline portion begins with Rachel Rose’s film A Minute Ago. The film starts with a hailstorm pelting down unexpectedly on a quiet beach in Siberia. People, half naked, run for cover under towels and parasols. The next scene is an interview of famed architect Philip Johnson, then in his nineties. The interview was shot in the Glass House that he designed in a forest in 1949. The Glass House has become a monument to an unavoidable and disastrous future. The film is a complex fabricated world in the midst of upheaval and on the verge of collapse, which allows us to explore the complex relationships between internal and external, life and death.

Tao Hui’s Hello, Finale! is a series of nine videos arranged in an orderly array within the exhibition space, which emphasize the intertextual and parallel relationships between the content of the work. The protagonists in frame have incomplete and one-sided conversations on the telephone; shot in Kyoto, the stories narrated in Japanese are adapted from Chinese news and the artist’ s personal experiences. These clips, with their sense of distance and yet familiarity, all echo the sense of finitude, which forms their main theme.

Hong Hao’s Reborn – Receipt takes a large number of receipts, forms, contracts, etc. related to our real life and turns them over, using the blank side as the medium of the work for rubbing of the text on the other side. In presenting two sides to daily objects, he attempts to give these objects, which can no longer be used for their original function, a new life.

For I Will Die, Yang Zhenzhong filmed nearly one thousand people from different age groups, classes, and races across a dozen countries. They face the camera and say, in a dozen languages, the words: “I will die.” Full of lightness, humor, and contradictions, this work engages with a topic that makes people feel uneasy and solemn. Chen Zhen created Crystal Landscape of Inner Body using the insights from facing death, placing twelve fragile crystal organs, including the heart, liver, and lungs, on a transparent bed to inspire introspection and sudden awareness.

Huang Yong Ping’s Péril de mouton draws on a fantastical animal from The Classic of the Mountains and Seas, which had the head of an ox, the ears of a pig, four horns on its head, and a body covered in cowhides. The creature surveys a “flock” of 150 sheepskins. When viewers walk among them, they are consumed by the flock, building a strange food chain between humans, oxen, and sheep. The myth moves in cycles; humans are its source, as well as its consequence. Chen Shaoxiong’s Collective Memory series redefines public art institutions that are considered to have elitist origins as scenic sites and landmark buildings with a broader collective memory. The series was an art experiment guided by Chen and shaped by public participation. The fingerprints of community residents, embodiments of collective memory, were transformed into varying sizes of pixels in a digital image, reflecting recollections of collective living spaces.

In The Proliferation of Thread Winding, Lin Tianmiao employs 15-centimenter-long industrial needles used to sew sacks. On one hand, a single needle by itself is as sharp as a knife and can hurt our body, but a huge number of them put together visually seems like a soft bed of fur, completely losing their original functions and power. On the other hand, a ball of cotton threads by itself is perceived as harmless since it is soft and cuddly, but when they come together in huge numbers, they become so much more invasive and aggressive. The intervention of the video clip is an instinctive choice. The repetitive hand winding action of thread balls seems testing the patience of audiences while giving the work a sense of life.

Wang Gongxin’s Dialogue presents a rectangular platform filled with ink over which two lightbulbs are alternately raised and lowered. In the calm rising and falling of the bulbs and the fluid flow of the light, viewers seem to hear themselves breathing, and this seemingly stable place becomes less stable. The taut sense of boundaries and the slow ripples in the surface of the liquid become an emotional and visual dissolution and dialogue.

Liang Shaoji’s A Move in Silence reshapes the circle and opens a dimensionless realm. A deconstructed clock without hands is scattered on the ground, and the suspended, wrapped stone pendulum indicates the existence and advent of another world.

In Anri Sala’s If and Only If, a garden snail slowly crawls from one end of a viola bow to the other, disturbing the subtle balance of the musician’s performance. Because of its slow pace, the snail becomes the protagonist of that performance. Igor Stravinsky’s “Elegy for Solo Viola” is subverted in the tactile interaction between the musician and the garden snail, and the performance seems to take twice as long as it would ordinarily, extending the elegy into a painful and disorderly journey.

Anne Rochat embarked upon a multi-country walking project called Hic & Nunc. In this performance (filmed in real time during 24 hours on the night of the full moon), she traverses the 120-kilometer Salar de Uyuni in Bolivia. The walking and the environment merge into one, and we feel so small amidst the vastness, which imbues her walking with significance beyond imagination.

Song Dong created the participatory installation Boundary Stele, in which he invites viewers to write in water on the stele. The rapidly-disappearing words reflect the interconnectedness of memory and forgetting, the present and the eternal. In Yin Xiuzhen’s Walking / Thinking, she gives pairs of shoes she has collected long fabric “legs,” which she then assembles into a sort of forest. Viewers can walk among the legs, gaining in understanding as they go, and entering an undercurrent of the collective unconscious.

Academic Consultant

Wang Hui, the founding Director of the Tsinghua Institute for Advanced Study in Humanities and Social Sciences (TIAS). He teaches at Tsinghua University as Distinguished Professor of Literature and History. As one of the esteemed scholars in fields of intellectual history, social theory and modern literature. Wang Hui’s work has attempted to chart the intellectual and political conditions of contemporary China and has remained committed to the project of deep engagement with both the history and the consequences of Chinese modernity.

Wang Hui graduated with a PhD degree in Chinese literature from the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences in 1988. In 1996-2007, he served as the chief editor of Dushu Magazine, the most influential intellectual journal in China. Since the early 1990s, he has been invited to many universities around the world as visiting professor or research fellow, including Harvard, Columbia, NYU, Stanford, Tokyo University, Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin, and Bologna University. He has published extensively on Chinese intellectual history, literature, and engaged in debates on historical and contemporary issues. His books have been translated into English, Italian, Spanish, Japanese, Korean, German, Slovenian, Portuguese, etc. The English language translations include China’s Twentieth Century (2015), China From Empire to Nation-State (2014), The Politics of Imagining Asia (2010), The End of Revolution (2009) and China’s New Order (2003). His four-volumes work The Rise of Modern Chinese Thought in Chinese (2004) is regarded as one of the most important contributions to modern Chinese scholarship over the past two decades. Wang Hui is the recipient of numerous awards such as “2013 Luca Pacioli Prize” which he shared with Jürgen Habermas in Italy and “Anneliese Maier Research Award” (2018) in Germany.

About the Curator

Yan Shijie is the founder, director and curator of the Red Brick Art Museum. Always adhering to the value of ‘academic-oriented,’ he is a pioneer in proposing and implementing the concept of ‘ecological museum experience’ in China. In 2016, he curated the exhibition ‘Identification Zone: Chinese and Danish Furniture Design’ which was the first design-centered dialogue between Chinese classical furniture and Danish furniture masterpieces. In the largest Sino-German cultural exchange project in 2018, ‘Deutschland 8-Deutsche Kunst in China’, Yan Shijie as the deputy general curator together with the general curator Fan Di’an and Walter Smerling curated ‘Prologue-German Informel Art’. In 2018, he curated ‘The unspeakable openness of things’-the largest solo exhibition of Olafur Eliasson in China to date. In 2019 he curated the Sarah Lucas’ largest eponymous solo exhibition in Asia, ‘Sarah Lucas’. Other well-received exhibitions curated by Yan Shijie include ‘Izumi Kato’ (2018), ‘Andreas Mühe: Photography’ (2018), ‘Andres Serrano: An American Perspective’ (2017) and ‘Wen Pulin Archive of Chinese Avant-Garde Art of the 80s and 90s’ (2016). The aforementioned exhibitions have constructed deep and multi-dimensional explorations and reflections on contemporary art from various perspectives

Read all

Academic Consultant: Wang Hui

Curator: Yan Shijie

Artists: Chen Shaoxiong, Chen Zhen, Olafur Eliasson, Hong Hao, Huang Yong Ping, Liang Shaoji, Lin Tianmiao, Anne Rochat, Rachel Rose, Anri Sala, Song Dong, Tao Hui,
Wang Gongxin, Yang Zhenzhong, Yin Xiuzhen

Organised by: Red Brick Art Museum

Exclusive Strategic Cooperation: Tencent Art

Sponsor: Samsung Monitor

Opening: July 31, 2020 (By Invitation Only)

Dates: August 1–October 18, 2020

2020+

“关于苦难他们总是很清楚的,
这些古典画家:他们多么深知它在
人心中的地位,深知痛苦会产生”

——W. H. 奥登(W. H. Auden)

1938年,英国诗人奥登参观布鲁塞尔美术馆后,将观看16世纪荷兰古典大师勃鲁盖尔(Bruegel Pieter the Elder)作品的感悟融入了《美术馆》这首充满视觉性的诗歌中,在这里,苦难、悲剧和众生的场景交错出现,平静中透露着沉郁悲凉。

2020年,我们面对着近百年来最难以抹去的“疫情”时刻:突发的公共危机和社会事件笼罩全球;个体、集体,生命、自然,当下、永恒,一切已知的坐标来到重建秩序的十字路口。正如此次展览策展人闫士杰所说:“2020已成为我们面前的时间界碑,有形、无形的语言,逐渐沉淀为集体记忆。”展览“2020+”试图通过15位艺术家独到的思考与行动,打开更加多维的认知空间。

奥拉维尔·埃利亚松(Olafur Eliasson)为2020年“世界地球日”创作的《地球视角》,将作为“2020+”展览的线上作品呈现给观众。艺术家以地球上9个特殊的自然、人文事件的地点,创作了9张不同角度的地球图像。这一作品表达了地图、空间以及地球本身是被建构出来的事实,无论是个人还是集体,都有权利从新的视角去探索和解读这个世界。

展览的线下部分在瑞秋·罗斯(Rachel Rose)的影片《一分钟前》中拉开帷幕:西伯利亚平静海岸上陡然刮起冰雹,狼狈的半裸游客们慌忙避难;影片的下一个场景则复制了当时已年届九十的著名建筑师菲利普·约翰逊(Philip Johnson)的访谈场景。访谈拍摄于他1949年设计的位于森林中的玻璃房子,“玻璃房成为象征不可避免的灾难性未来的纪念碑”。作品构成了一个庞杂、动荡而濒临破碎的虚构世界,探索了内部与外部、死亡与生命多个状态之间的复杂关系。

陶辉的作品《你好,尽头!》,九个录像以规则的矩阵形式排列在展厅中,强调了作品内容之间的互文和平行关系。镜头中主角对着电话道出不完整的、单方面的对话;摄于京都的影像,日语念白所讲述的故事却改编自中国的社会新闻和艺术家的个人经历,这些带有疏离意味又似曾相识的片段全然附和呼应着作品主题所揭示的临界终结之感。

洪浩的《再生》把大量有关我们现实生活里的票据、表格、合同等,翻过来利用空白面作为作品的媒介去拓写另一面的文字,呈现出一种两面性,试图让那些已经失效的原物历经一次再生的过程。

杨振中的作品《我会死的》,在十多个国家拍摄了近千位不同年龄、不同身份、不同种族的人。他们用十多种不同国家的语言,面对摄像机说:“我会死的”。作品以轻松、幽默、矛盾的方式,指涉一个令人不安却又非常严肃的话题。陈箴用面对死亡的感知,创作了作品《水晶体内景观》,将十二个易碎的水晶玻璃制造的心、肝、肺等人体器官放置于一张透明的床上,发人内观与深省。

黄永砅的《羊祸》以《山海经》的牛头猪耳,头长四角,身披牛皮的怪兽为形象,怪兽俯视着150张羊皮组成的“羊群”。当人步入其间,亦同被“羊群”所淹没,在人、牛、羊之间构建一种诡异的食物链,周而复始,“人”是这则神话的起因,也是后果。陈劭雄的《集体记忆》系列将那些被认为是精英主义起源的公共艺术机构重新定义为拥有广大群众记忆的“景点”和地标性建筑。作品是陈劭雄主导的一场由公众参与的艺术实验,将拥有共同记忆的社区居民的指纹作为数码照片上大小不一的像素点,以体现对集体生活空间的追忆。

林天苗的作品《缠的扩散》选择使用了缝麻袋的工业用针(长度 15cm),像刀子一样锋利的针,可对人造成直接的伤害。当两三万根针,针尖向上,被密密麻麻地直立排列在一起时,针的视觉效果变得像皮毛一样柔软,完全失去了原有的攻击性。棉球柔软无攻击性,随着数量的增加,棉球的扩张性和进攻性也急剧增强着。影像的介入是直觉的选择,手在不断单纯重复缠绕着棉球的行为,既挑战着观众的忍耐力,又让作品具有活着感觉。

王功新的作品《对话》呈现了一个盛满墨水的矩形平台,上方两盏灯泡交替起落。在平静的升降与光线流转中,观众仿佛能听到自己的呼吸声,看似稳固的场域变得不再稳固,紧绷的临界感与水面的款款波纹生成一种情绪与视觉的相互消解与对话。

梁绍基的作品《寂然而动》重塑了“圆形”,也打开了无维度的场域,一台被解构的无指针的钟台撒落于地,被云丝紧裹的钟摆悬石预示另一个世界的存在与到来。

安利·萨拉(Anri Sala)的作品《当且仅当》中,庭院蜗牛缓缓从中提琴琴弓的一端爬向另一端,打破了音乐家演奏时的微妙平衡。蜗牛因缓慢的步调成为表演中的主角。伊戈尔·斯特拉文斯基(Igor Stravinsky)的“中提琴独奏悲歌”在音乐家与庭院蜗牛之间产生的触觉互动中被颠覆,演奏以近乎平日两倍的时长结束。悲歌蔓延成一场痛苦、无序的旅行。

安·罗夏(Anne Rochat)立下了名为《此时此地》的多国徒步行走计划,在本次表演(在满月之夜的24小时内实时拍摄)中,她穿越了长120公里的玻利维亚的乌尤尼盐沼。行走与环境的合一,博大中的渺小,赋予了这次徒步旅行超乎想象的意义。

宋冬创作的参与行为装置《界碑》,邀请观者在碑上用水书写,快速消失的字迹,反映了记忆与遗忘、当下与永恒的交织。在尹秀珍的作品《行思》中,收集来的每双鞋分别被一条长长的织物“腿”相连,汇聚成林,观者可以漫步穿行其中,且悟且进,集体潜意识暗流其中……

 

 

学术顾问

汪晖,清华大学首批资深文科教授,中文系、历史系双聘博士导师,长江学者,清华大学人文与社会科学高等研究所所长,领域为中国思想史、中国现代文学和社会理论等。1988-2002 年任职于中国社会科学院文学所,1996-2007 年间担任《读书》杂志执行主编。主要著作包括《世纪的诞生》(“20 世纪的中国” 第一部,另两部待出)、《现代中国思想 的兴起》(四卷本)、《去政治化的政治》、《东西之间的“西藏问题”》、《亚洲视野: 中国历史的叙述》、《短二十世纪》等,大 量作品被翻译为英文、日文、韩文、意大利文、德文、西班牙文、斯洛文尼亚文等各种文字,约 20 余种,其中英译著作包括 China’s New Order, The End of the Revolution, The Politics of Imagining Asia, China from Empire to Nation-State, China’s Twentieth Century 等。曾获得多种国内外奖项,其中包括 2013 年与哈贝马斯同获”卢卡·帕西欧利奖”, 2018 年 获“安内莉泽· 迈尔研究奖”。

关于策展人

闫⼠杰,红砖美术馆创始人、馆长、策展人。坚守 “学术为本”的原则,在中国率先提出并践行“生态体验美术馆”的运营理念。2016 年,闫士杰策划了“识别区:中国· 丹麦家具设计” 展,第一次将中国古家具以设计的名义与丹麦家具设计大师对话;2017 年,闫士杰在中德最具规模的“德国 8”文化交流项目中,与总策展人范迪安、瓦尔特·斯迈林共同策划了“先导 – 德国非定形艺术” 展;2018 年,他策展了奥拉维尔· 埃利亚松迄今在中国最大规模个展“奥拉维尔 · 埃利亚松:道隐无名”;2019 年策划了艺术家莎拉·卢卡斯亚洲最大规模同名个展“莎拉·卢卡斯”;他策划的展览还包括:“加藤泉”(2018)、“安德里亚 斯·穆埃:摄影”(2018)、“安德烈斯·塞拉诺:一个美国人的视角”(2017)、“温 普林中国前卫艺术档案之八〇九〇年代” (2016)等引起文化艺术界广泛关注的展览,从不同视角建构起对当代艺术的深层次、多维度探索与思考。

阅读全部

学术顾问:汪晖

策展人:闫士杰

艺术家:陈劭雄、陈箴、奥拉维尔·埃利亚松、洪浩、黄永砅、梁绍基、林天苗、安·罗夏、瑞秋·罗斯、安利·萨拉、宋冬、陶辉、王功新、杨振中、尹秀珍

主办:红砖美术馆

独家战略合作:腾讯艺术
支持:三星显示器

开幕:2020年7月31日(仅限邀请)
展期:2020年8月1日至10月18日